top of page

Justine Cardy: Match Secretary

IMG_1170 (1).jpg

Favourite Player: Boris Becker - showing my age!

Favourite Shot: Forehand

One (or two) things not many people know about me: I love going on safari and have been fortunate enough to witness the Wilderbeest migration in the Maasai Mara in Kenya on one of my trips. I'm looking forward to being able to go back to Africa at some point after the pandemic.

" I first played tennis at secondary school and made the school team - as much for my enthusiasm as for any degree of skill. At 16 I was lucky enough to go on a school trip to Wimbledon where I completely fell in love with the game and became an avid spectator. However, I didn't play again until my early 30's after the White Horse Tennis Centre opened in Abingdon. I rather hesitantly joined their beginner group coaching sessions but progressed to intermediate level and subsequently started playing competitively in the singles ladders. After having my daughter, I found it difficult to get to the sessions in Abingdon and was frustrated by the lack of court availability. So I joined KBS instead where I was welcomed by players of a similar level who persuaded me to go to Sunday morning Open sessions and start group coaching. As my daughter got older, I had more time and tennis became my regular exercise as it was flexible enough to be able to arrange to play to fit in with my family commitments. I was then co-opted onto the women's C team and started playing League matches. I found the matches really sociable and surprisingly unpressured as we were playing in the lowest Division in the League. As I was getting so much out of the club, I decided to give something back and took on the role of Match Secretary when the vacancy arose. Subsequently, I then became Captain of the then women's B team. I've really enjoyed mixing with players of all levels within the club and taking part in the annual club competition. I also now enjoy playing mixed doubles competitively - although I do feel sorry for whoever gets me as their partner as they have to work a lot harder to compensate for my limitations!

bottom of page